This is the second anniversary of Dad’s death….


This is the second anniversary of Dad’s death. I don’t remember too much about the first anniversary as, this time last year, I was taking full advantage of a morphine pump at my disposal to dull the post-surgical pain of my broken hip and wrist.

Walking up to the subway this morning, on the way to the weekly Worship Planning meeting at church, a man with a cane – looking at least as old as my father, and probably older – swiveled around on one heel and fell to the ground right in front of me. I, and a man I took to be a younger friend, helped him to his feet, and made sure he was okay. It was a jarring experience with Dad on my mind and me walking with a cane as well. I dare say the old fellow is feeling some aches tonight.

Mom tells me Dad’s tulips and daffodils have come up again this year so his gardening legacy lives on.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Facebook me!

Leave a Reply

