Canadian Maritimes Tour: Day Four – Digby, N.S. to St. John, N.B.




This has been a cloudy, occasionally rainy, and very windy day – or, as a Digby shopkeeper put it, “Weather (whether) you like it or not, wha?”

That same store employee provided some insight into the more relaxed pace of daily business in these parts. As I waited to buy a couple of sand dollars and a star fish, gifts for a doctor of mine, the woman asked the customer in front of me if she was a nurse. Reacting as if she had been spooked the customer said, “Why, yes, I am.”

“Something told me you was, I don’t know why,” the shopkeeper said. “You just seem to have that nurse’s feel about you. You know when I was having my daughter I nearly died from kidney failure but, thank God, I was alright – and my daughter, too. But I’s been having problems ever since.”

This went on for several minutes – those problems being enumerated one by one – as I patiently stood at a respectful distance, though clearly ready to pay for my souvenirs. It was a moment where I had to remember that this was not Toronto, where such lengthy chatting at a cash register would not be tolerated. I readily admit that I appreciated the difference!

Down at the waterfront I had a firsthand look at all the scallop boats (top left). Digby claims to be the scallop capital of Canada – or the world, perhaps (I forget). I sampled them last night during our five course meal in the dining room of the Digby Pines Resort (lower left).

What a beautiful property this is! Members of our group were housed in cottages on the lodge’s large grounds. I shared one such cottage with ‘my two girlfriends’ from San Diego, Kay and Pat, both well into their eighties and a real joy to travel with. Feeling quite chilly this morning I lit the already-prepared fireplace at about 5:30 and managed to set the smoke detector off when I threw on some wet wood a couple of hours later. By that time Pat and Kay were awake, so there was no harm done.

After a breakfast buffet, we checked out and toured Digby briefly before going aboard the Princess of Acadia ferry and heading across the Bay of Fundy (top right) to Saint John, New Brunswick. It was quite a rough crossing. Although I managed to stay outside long enough to take a few pictures I spent most of the three hours inside watching the view change from sky to waves and back to sky and then waves.

Upon arriving in Saint John we drove to the ‘reversing falls’, which due to our timing, were neither reversing nor falling. Then, after checking into our hotel, I took a walking tour of the city – starting at the St. John Market (lower right). It’s quite an old city, ‘the oldest incorporated ity in Canada’, with brightly coloured homes and many historic buildings – probably worth another visit when I have more time.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

