Canadian Maritimes Tour: Day Seven – Smooth sailing back to Nova Scotia


Well, it’s happened again – I got lost in Charlottetown last night as I tried to find my way back to the hotel. I ended up hailing a cab for what was, essentially, a two block trip. There’s something about a city with few high-rise buildings, as evidence here’s the view from my gorgeous hotel’s room, which seems to give me few landmarks. I crumpled up a city map the hotel had given me, and folks on the tour say I should have it laminated!



The two beautiful women pictured are the Digby cottage-mates I wrote about a few days ago. Both Kay and Pat are well into their eighties, or so I have been told, but they seem to be great travel companions.

I took the picture at the Alexander Graham Bell Museum in Baddeck, Cape Breton Island which was our first stop (if you don’t count the Tim Horton’s near Pictou) after a pleasant – and very smooth – ferry crossing from the red shores of Prince Edward Island. It was a warm and sunny afternoon.

The museum is a must-see for visitors to Baddeck. It clearly shows that there was so much more to Alexander Graham Bell than the telephone!

We are staying at the lovely Inverary Resort in Baddeck , whose lovely marina inspired this picture, for the next two nights.
It’s breezy and quite cool this evening, too windy for the nightly bonfire they usually have on the lakefront. I took a short stroll into the village before the stores closed and it’s easy to see how the Bell family could be so taken with this area. The people are every bit as lovely as their surroundings. The same can be said wherever we have been on this tour. There’s a real hospitality here which surely must endear so many visitors to the Maritimes
.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Leave a Reply

