Pianos, green and otherwise


Air mail brought me a t-shirt like this one today from Australia, where it is warm enough to wear a t-shirt I reckon. Clever, eh? This evening I enjoyed a night out at the symphony (Mahler’s Fifth Symphony was the highlight) and returned home to find an email from someone who had stumbled on to a piece I had written, either here or at Writing.com (I’m not certain which), called “The Green Piano”. The first-half of tonight’s concert was Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op. 43, the grand piano (not green) expertly played by Stewart Goodyear.

Long story short, I mentioned in the piece of writing that a cottage was specially built for a man dying of cancer. (This was about 30 years ago.) Tonight’s email was from that man’s son! Somehow, and I am waiting to hear back from him as to exactly how, he came across the story, saw enough evidence to connect some dots, and contacted me.

This, as I told him in a note in response, was the same week that I had an email from the girl I took to my high school graduation dance almost thirty years ago. (She wanted to know if I remembered her!)

If I didn’t know, or at least believe, any better I would worry that these seemingly unrelated contacts (‘life flashing before my eyes’) were foretelling some grave misfortune about to befall me. Either that or I’ve simply been ‘Googled’.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Facebook profile

Leave a Reply

