Another update on Craig


Back in Perth with my mother, I did not leave Montreal on Sunday evening very hopeful for Craig’s recovery – but he has surprised us before.  He remains on a respirator (which they are reluctant to remove until such time as they are quite certain not to need it again).  This week’s neurologist (they cycle through week-by-week) says there has been some frontal lobe damage (behaviour, mood, memory) which is more than we knew last week so, as his hold on life remains precarious, we are getting used to the idea that he may not want to “pull through” should there be opportunities for elective surgery or ‘heroic measures’ in the near future.  It is a time of much reflection.

I appreciate each of your individual messages of support. Mom is an inspiration of strength through adversity – always has been. I half-joke that it might be time for an update to an Observer article I wrote about our family 15 or so years ago – which I modified only slightly in “Faith in the Family”. She is not “wired” but I check my email every other day or so at the Perth library or at a great fair-trade cafe, with internet access, overlooking the lovely Stewart Park. Coutt’s (at Code’s Mill on the Park) makes great Cafe Americano, which fuel me here as they often do in Toronto!

Hugs,
Kenn

3 thoughts on “Another update on Craig

  1. It’s good to know how Craig is doing. I do hope he gets better. I when to the webpage about our new candidate in Toronto Centre. He sure sounds wonderful. There are 3 videos up now on Utube.

  2. Hi Kenn,

    I’ve been reading your blog daily for the last few months. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog and greatly admire the work you’re doing, online and in the community. I was sorry to hear about Craig, and hope for the best for him. I’ll continue to read your blog daily. Keep up the good work.

  3. I was at the clinic just this afternoon (Wednesday) at the General. I remember you and your family and especially Craig in my daily prayers. Let me know when you come back to Montreal. I will visit with you – if you want.

    Jeremy

Leave a Reply

