June


My dear friend Jim used to nickname me June (as in Cleaver). So of course I dressed as her for a memorable Oscars party he threw (although not memorable enough that I can recall the year, the winners, etc.) I have an over-sized picture, part of a day-in-the-life photo essay done about me, where I am putting curlers in my naturally-wavy hair, wearing the house dress I would later wear to the party, as my bewildered cat of that time, Tiger, sat at attention on a chair next to me with the most inquisitive look you can imagine! Note to self: that picture would be worth scanning…

So this is the first day of June, 2007. Well I, for one, am glad May is over. What used to be such a lovely month (Craig’s birthday, Mother’s Day) really sucked this year (Craig’s death, Mom and the rest of us traveling on Mother’s Day – which this year, of course, fell on Craig’s birthday – for his funeral the next day. Oh and May 4 is the anniversary of Dad’s death.)

The forsythias were lovely, the lilacs fragrant, the weather mostly sunny and pleasant. Wish I could have another go at the month!

Here’s to June – Cleaver and otherwise.  And, uh-oh, it’s a full moon tonight.

Add to Technorati Favorites

One thought on “June

  1. Hi Kenn,
    Please scan that picture and post it.Leave it to Beaver was one of my favorite shows growing up and I`d love to see your portrayal of June Cleaver.
    I also wish for you a better month.
    I`ve been looking at your photos and you`re quite a photographer!
    I recognize some of the Perth area shots.

Leave a Reply

