Not over, not under, not around…just through


I had a wonderful get-together with Karen (one of my church’s pastoral staff and a close confidant) this morning to take stock of my grieving process. I was reminded of the truism I learned years ago about grief – you can’t go over it, under it, or around it – only through it, in all the ways it manifests itself, and it is often most profound when we least expect it.

Each of us grieves differently, in our own way and in our own time.

We talked about all sorts of things that have been going on through these difficult times. Suffice to say it was a very affirming, supportive time together. I’m going to miss these opportunities when she and Hal retire soon.

Not to name drop…okay just a bit…but on my way home, walking past the Royal Ontario Museum Crystal (where I took a few more exterior photos), I saw ROM Director and CEO William Thorsell striding across the little plaza out front. I walked straight toward him, my hand extended, congratulated him and then had a brief conversation about the building and my rave review of it. I described taking the architectural tour on Monday and said – as I also did when speaking with Karen – how the starkness of the empty exhibit rooms, with all their sharp angles and interesting lay-outs, felt like an almost spiritual experience. So, as the merits of the design continue to have people talking, for and against, I offered him that anecdote for his consideration (and I’m obviously not the first to do so.) Then, lacking some good exterior shots for my collection, I took these:


Continuing my walk home I took a break for a coffee on the patio of Timothy’s on Church Street.

It’s been a pretty good day so far and, as I got home, there was a thank you note from my mother – a thank you note…from my mother! She continues to amaze me.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Facebook me!

Leave a Reply

