Namaste!



I salute the Divinity in you which salutes the Divinity in me.

From Wikipedia:

Namasté or Namaskar in Nepali and Hindi (from internal sandhi between namah and te) is an Indian greeting or parting phrase as well as a gesture.

Taken literally, it means “I bow to you”. The word is derived from Sanskrit (namas): to bow, obeisance, reverential salutation, and (te): “to you”.

When spoken to another person, it is commonly accompanied by a slight bow made with hands pressed together, palms touching and fingers pointed upwards, in front of the chest. The gesture can also be performed wordlessly and carry the same meaning.

One of the early challenges I have felt in getting sober again is my prejudice towards the phrase “God as we understand Him”. Him? I have, for a long time, dropped the idea that The Divine, The Mystery, The Light can or should be assigned a gender, let alone the male gender. Yet the male pronoun for God is used widely in recovery circles largely because of a strong sentiment not to change any of the wording of the pioneers of 12-step recovery.  Elsewhere it may simply be God, and the old ideas of being male, are some sort of short-hand.

It’s a bit of superstition and idolatry as I see it and, by being non-inclusive, it can be – by definition – exclusive.

Getting sober does not require conversion to believing in the traditional, western Judeo-Christian idea of “God”. Among other things, I call myself a post-Christian nontheist.

When I read his book “The Road Less Traveled” many years ago, Scott Peck had a definition of higher power, or God, which reminds me of the sanskrit Namaste. He may even have used it specifically but, if not, the sentiments were similar.

It makes sense to me that each of us is endowed with a power within ourselves to overcome our ego’s occasionally self-destructive ways. However it very often takes a salute, from the Divine in someone else, to remember that. This explains why there is a great deal of power in a meeting or in community gatherings of so many kinds!

Even when alone, the power within is accessible if we can orient our minds and spirits to seek it.

Namaste! I salute the Divine in you which salutes the Divine in me.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Facebook me!

One thought on “Namaste!

  1. The God of our Own Understanding… a light bulb, the universe, the goddess, God, Shiva, Hanuman, or any other god will do as long as you stay sober…

    Jeremy

Leave a Reply

