I b’n memed


I don’t encourage my being memed (it seems like a modern-day chain letter and is, at the very least, work!) but, when a friend reaches out to me from the heat of California on a day like today, I kind of melt!

mame.jpg

Now Mame (as in She’ll coax the blues right out of your heart!) is quite another matter!  See how easily I’m distracted? 🙂

…to the point of buying the soundtrack from iTunes just a few minutes ago!

Open a New Window!
The Man In the Moon (is a Lady!)
My Best Girl
We Need a Little Christmas
Mame
Loving You
The Letter
Bosom Buddies
Gooch’s Song
If He Walked Into My Life

The year was 1974. I would have been in the early years of high school.

Mom, being a music teacher, never missed a chance to take us to movie musicals of that time – The Sound of Music, Mary Poppins, Fiddler On The Roof, etc. (I was a workhouse/Fagan’s boys chorister in my high school’s production of “Oliver!” in my first year)…and long before I could or would call myself ‘gay’!

Things I remember from “Mame” (in addition to the songs): Lucy (Lucille Ball) was beautiful – lots of red. Bea Arthur was a hoot (this would have been around the time of her TV show “Maude”, I think, long before “Golden Girls”!).

Oh and I was impressed by the big dresses and large chorus numbers (see the ‘Me gay?’ reference just above).

Now where was I?

Oh, yes, the meme:

The instructions:

1) Post a note about a blogger you would like to see something wonderful happen for. Maybe one whose posts have touched your heart in one way or another. Include details as to why you admire them and what you wish for them. Be as supporting and affirming as you can.
2) Post your favorite memory around selflessness, giving, or doing for others. Something that has actually changed you.
3) As a postscript, name one thing you will actually do for someone in your life before December 31 that is born out of joy.
4) Tag 3 other bloggers who will play the game and find the spirit. Don’t forget to leave a comment on their blog so they continue to share the good feelings.

I’ll do some thinking on this before I answer, or pass on, this meme.

Leave a Reply

