Earth Hour 2008


160_todark_080329.jpg

From the CTV report I have posted the stupidest of the viewer comments. Thankfully there were many, not shown, who were better informed. (It seems that several dinosaur fossils are out of the tar for the weekend.)

laureen
this is so silly I am going to turn on every light in my house from 8-9

john in ontario
It’s 7:59 and every light in my house that isn’t on is going on. I’m starting up a wash load I’ve been saving all day. Take that Suzuki!

Michael
I think this is a silly idea. I try to save energy every day and I don’t need other people to badger me. I will save energy my own way.

Paul
I’m turning on all of my house lights, running all 3 vehicles, and we are making a great big bonfire in the back yard … and my stereo is being turned up very loud.

Green garbage doesn’t interest me, especially when it’s based on poor science.

Gypsy
I’ll turn off my lights the day Fruit-Fly Guy and Al Gore put their money where their mouth is and set up permanent residence in a cave. Until then, you will not tell me what I can and can’t do! So, my lights are on and the cars are running!!!

surrender – toronto
my lights are still on

Tim Toronto
maybe if it was done on a continuous monthly basis with some lasting year round results it would have merit.But to do it once is nothing more than a publicity stunt with no long term value or goals except to give the illusion and make some feel warm and fuzzy inside.Give me a break the city of Toronto is going to participate and everyear are summers have more and more severe poluted days!!!

Raymond
I hope the participants realize that the coal-fired generating stations did not reduce their emission outputs one iota during this self-induced publicity stunt. If people want real energy-use reductions, maybe Mr. Bennett could convince his lemmings to follow him off a cliff.

Eric
So are we going to have a “Mars Hour” too? … ’cause I mean, the ice caps on Mars are melting as well, and CLEARLY that is caused by our C02 (or maybe it’s the Mars Rover).

We must save Mars from Man-Made Global War– wait…

Scott Richter
Never did anything different this evening if it takes an “Earth Hour” for the population to conserve resources I think we are already screwed.

I don’t need government, hand wringing neighbors (comrades), or the hypocritical elite telling me how to think or what to believe.

I’ll fall on side with those that value individual freedoms and thought not group think based on emotional gobbledygook, and potentially flawed science, that’s making the gifted few very rich and powerful.

Michael
The idea is silly because saving energy should not be a “New Year’s Resolution” kind of concept. Just like birthday cards and Mother’s Day cards, if you really care you should be doing it everyday without being prompted and without occasion.

When children are taught to follow others through some event they are likely to wait to be led. I never wait. I get going once I see the need. I use my own senses and I never take other people’s words for granted. Would you like your children to be leaders or followers? Do you believe everything people tell you?

If we need events like these to teach children and ill-informed adults then each day of the year would be filled with special public awareness events.

And what do you do with the other 8,759 hours of the year for energy conservation?

G.B. Logan
I know why ‘ignorant fools’, ‘idiots’ and ‘morons’ like me are posting doing earth hour, but why those who think it’s a wonderful idea? Are their computers run by solar power?
And the bonfires? the batteries in the flashlights?
And (as I said before) the paraffin in the candles?
What?

Greg
laureen.. ur a tool! I for one am very proud to say that I killed my main breaker, and had fun without electricity! This was great and we should do it more often!

Mr Chillz
This is just a dry run for world global governance. Pretty soon they will write some draconian law that says we have to do this all the time.

What a farse…..

fuzzy
Wow … not me.

The difference between me and you is that I don’t pretend to care. I love my afluent life style and plan on keeping it. I’m not a hypocrite like the rest of you who want to feel good by living in the dark for one hour, but have no intention of giving up your standard of living. You are limousine Liberals of the worst kind … or just hippies.

My lights are on.

Kellie
HYPOCRITS!….all of you. I’ll believe you are actually serious when you give up electricity, heat, telephone, vehicles, and every other convenience in life. Until then, you are simply play-acting and horribly delusional.

Josh
Has this sham changed the attitudes of a single person? No. People are still going to drive 120 km/h in their Hummers down the 401; people are still going to “forget” to recycle; people will still use alkaline batteries and throw them out when they are finished. Start making real changes, not coming up with events that do absolutely nothing.

bobby
Globull Warming is the biggest hoax perpetrated on Mankind. Gore’s movie has already been proven false, The hottest years of the last century were in the 1930’s – not recently. In fact, since 1998, the Earth bas been cooling year to year.

The TRUE morons here are the “watermelons” – green on the outside but red on the inside.

Environmentalism is the new home of extreme Leftists, trying to control other people’s lives through arbitrary government laws.

Robert Wood
I am sorry for those of you who are actually doing this silly WWF publicity stunt, thinking it will “help the Earth”.

Why is it silly? Because it is the Sun that causes climate on the Earth, not feeble minded enviro-mentalists and their dupes.

Why are followers of this silliness dupes? Because Al Gore is a charleton and the WWF, Greenpeace and related organizations are billion dollar multinational businesses that rake in the money from believers like the Catholic church of the middle ages. You can even buy indulgances.

Robert, Ottawa

Thomas Hood
This is foolish i didnt turn off one light AT ALL for the sole reason that it was proven on Mythbusters that you use more power by turning them off then back on then you would just by leaving them on! Plus the Leafs are on HNIC and are beating the Habs 4-1 🙂

JS
I’m turning ALL my lights on for that hour and going for a 1 hour drive in my gas guzzling SUV for that hour.

This is one of the most stupidest ideas I have ever heard. Here in Calgary this past winter, we have set new records for daily energy consumptions. 1 hour today or ever will make a difference, when countries like China, India, Russia, etc. don’t do anything. It is not a man made problem and it isn’t a man made solution.

Luke
I turned on my Christmas lights in protest.

Jake in Ottawa
Turning off a light for one hour is kind of like pretending to diet by not eating for one hour and then saying ‘thank God that’s over; now I’ll have a Big Mac.’

Michael
The main problems with this event are the impractical nature of the gesture and the naive mindset of people who ascribe to it. Events like these are empty and ill-conceived gestures for people who like to feel good or feel that they are good people. Everyone goes back to business as usual after a few days.

Lights stay on in some places because burglars make hay when you tell everyone days in advance exactly when you will turn off the lights. It takes 5 minutes to break a shop window and loot. Haven’t you heard of black-outs? How naive can you be?

Ontario
I turned all my lights out left the house and egged every house with there lights on for an hour.

Kate from Sk
Raise awareness? Educate?

For crying out loud, Y2Kyoto hysteria has been crammed down our throats for the past three years and counting.

A snowflake cannot melt in this nation without making it to the national news. There is so much hysteria and so little common sense, and it’s demonstrated by ridiculous examples like this – an activist group’s fund raising press release being treated as news.

So, no thanks. I don’t need my awareness raised. I dont’ need to be educated. I’ve learned everything I need to know just watching 10,000 hypocrites jetting to Bali, from David Suzuki and his second home.

Or as it has been pointed out by others – I’ll believe it’s a crisis when the people who say it’s a crisis start acting like it’s a crisis.

I’m aware, all right.

But, I’m saying “NO. I will not participate in your insanity.”


Digg!

One thought on “Earth Hour 2008

  1. I think people are making a huge deal over Earth Hour. It was 1 hour of your entire year. Get over it. If you participated, good on you. If you didn’t, oh well. Your energy consumption for that hour probably does not even register on “the grand scheme of things” scale anyway.

    For anyone who turned your lights on in protest, you are the biggest idiot in the history of the galaxy. No one noticed or cared about you making a stand, so get over yourself.

    GO MOTHER NATURE

Leave a Reply

