A day of firsts


This afternoon, in a Toronto hotel ballroom, the anthology containing two of my short stories, will be released at a wine and cheese party.  I will not be there as I am in Montreal for another significant event – the inaugural presentation of Craig`s memorial award.  It is a lovely day and Mom, Claude and I are looking forward, with perhaps a little nervous anticipation, to this afternoon`s ceremonies.  Claude and I read aloud our prepared remarks last evening, not only to practice but also to let Mom hear everything we were going to be saying today.  (She`s not given to emotional surprises, and who can blame her in this case?)

Yesterday I took an amazing walk – amazingly long, too – some pictures of which you can see on my Flickr preview (where you can click to go to the entire collection).  The new picture in the header is the floor of the Montreal Convention Centre (Palais de Congres) with the colours coming from the multi-coloured panes of glass in the windows.

I`ll write more later.

Leave a Reply

