Medical update: My 16 month ‘holiday’ is over


I am back on meds to fight the good fight with HIV. (Don’t worry Medic-Alert, I’ll be emailing you soon.)

With the help of a lot of insulin, steadily increased since I started it July 17, my blood glucose levels are well enough in control that my doctor told me today that “We’re ready” or “It’s time” (I can’t remember which but both apply.)

My viral load is 125,000 and my CD-4 count is 260.

So, in addition to my “head drugs” for bi-polar II (1200 mg Lithium and 15 mg Mirtazapine), another drug for diabetes called Metformin, and Crestor for cholesterol, the HIV rundown is Viramune, Truvada, Prezista and Norvir.

This so-called drug holiday came about as a result of leaving one drug at home when I dashed away during the crisis in Montreal in late April and through May of last year. In order to prevent cross-resistance my doctor told me to go off all meds rather than do it piecemeal. Then when I got home I wasn’t looking after myself very well, to put it mildly, and yet my blood work was still pretty good so my doctor and I agreed to continue with the break. Then my diabetes began to worsen and, after tinkering with Metformin and Glyburide for a while (I was needlessly wary of insulin), I agreed to start insulin in July.

While all of this was going on my psychiatrist was working me up to a more diabetes-friendly combination so it’s been quite a project but I am optimistic that September will bring good health in every respect.

(Judging by the pain in my seat I know I haven’t gained much, if any, more weight.)

Feeling: Optimistic

Leave a Reply

