Watch what you think


A friend and I were talking recently about the CBC’s report on Jill Bolte Taylor (featured in the video) which, in turn, reminded me of an episode over a period of months back in the early ’90s tentatively identifed and diagnosed as aseptic meningitis. This was a couple of years after I tested HIV-positive and the two have been known to work concurrently.

Physically characterized mainly by a severe, week-plus migraine it was my mental state which was of considerably more concern to some of my friends.

I was, in short, out of my mind and had it not been for the headache I would have thoroughly enjoyed myself! I described it to my doctor as an out-of-body experience. It seems, as I recall it these many years later, that my cares were lifted and so was I. I vividly recall seeming to float above my friends as we paid a hospital visit to another friend. (Think Uncle Albert from “Mary Poppins”.) What’s more I was aware that, though I might appear crazy, I was absolutely fine in my own mind. And, by the way, I was sober as a church mouse.

Talking about this again, and with the experience of Jill Bolte Taylor an infinitely more powerful example of the brain’s workings, my friend and I wondered aloud about how surprisingly close the link may be between the physical (mental) and the spirit. With brain imaging what it is, and what it may become, it is not hard to imagine a day when we’ll literally be able to watch what we think!

Leave a Reply

