Living in the east on west coast time


At just after 1 a.m. EDST I am now contemplating hauling ass to my bed, although any number of distractions could keep me from there.

I see my nearly new therapist for the second time Thursday and, if last week is anything to go by, I will be glad it’s a late afternoon appointment. A day after last week’s session, advised not to write too much about it, I stayed up all night and listened to what I have since come to call the soundtrack of my youth, which I stretched back to my pre-teen years (when my older brother was catching the tail end of The Beatles wave) and forward to my thirties, when I still felt young.

It was comforting to find all the music and listen to it again as it reminded me that I used music to soothe me – or numb me as the case may have been. Some of these tunes, which I will not list here, I played over and over and over again. Okay I’ll name two because I spent hours learning them on the piano in their original, not “Easy Piano”, form: Hagood Hardy’s “The Homecoming” and Scott Joplin’s “The Entertainer”.

Barbra Streisand – Barry Manilow – Beach Boys – Beatles – Bee Gees – Billy Joel – Carly Simon – Carpenters – Cat Stevens – Christopher Cross – Creedance Clearwater Revival – Donna Summer – Eagles – Fleetwood Mac – James Taylor – Judy Collins – Kinks – Led Zeppelin – Mamas and the Papas – Moody Blues – Pet Shop Boys – Simon & Garfunkel – Supertramp – Three Dog Night – Village People – Weather Girls

Leave a Reply

