Medical update: I could do better if ‘good enough’ wasn’t still good enough


It’s been quite some time since I had the run of tests for HIV and diabetes, in part because of my fear of the results, so today’s news was quite satisfactory with clear room for improvement.

My viral load, a test which measures the activity of HIV in my blood, is below levels of present-day detectability. That’s the goal of this test of primary importance.

The CD-4/T-4 count, a measure of the immune response to infections, is 350. It has been higher, and also much lower (10 back in the early 90s), so I’m hoping that I can see it go up again. (I think my personal best is in the 600s.)

On the diabetes front, my A1c hemoglobin test – ideally at 7% (0.070) came back at 0.077. I know there’s room for improvement and, frankly, was surprised I did that well.

All in all, while I had some apprehensions about getting the results today, I was pleasantly surprised. Oh and my “head meds” are at acceptable levels.

4 thoughts on “Medical update: I could do better if ‘good enough’ wasn’t still good enough

  1. Hi Kenn

    It’s nice that your results were better than you expected – yay you! 🙂

    **wait for applause**

  2. Hi Kenn,

    Encouraging news! – with room for more encouragement by your assessment. It’s good to have a sense of accomplishment and a goal.

    To celebrate, how about coffee on Friday at 2: 30 at the usual place?

    Yvonne

  3. Hey Kenn,

    Today being World AIDS day, I wanted to let you know that we have a section of our site devoted to films about HIV, AIDS, and those living with the virus.

    All of the films are free and can be watched here:

    http://www.snagfilms.com/films/sections/category/world_aids_day_2011

    Any of these movies can also be embedded into a blog post easily by visiting a film’s page and clicking the “Snag This Film” button directly underneath the title.

    Please let me know if you are interested or if you have any questions about embedding any films.

    Thanks,
    Greg

Leave a Reply

