Sleep, no longer taken for granted, will soon be improving – hopefully


Early this month I had electrodes taped to my head, neck, chest and legs, then I was wished a good night for a sleep study to see why suddenly, to me at least, I couldn’t get a decent night of shut-eye.

The results, which I received on Monday, showed that over the course of the six to seven hours that I slept, however intermittently, my breathing stopped briefly “like you were swimming underwater” hundreds of times.

This is apnea but not the most common type of respiratory apnea; mine is linked to the brain, which “forgets” to signal to breathe, and is known as central apnea.

The news flooded over me faster than I could think of questions but here’s what I know.  I’ll be forming a very close relationship with oxygen each night, I am having a brain MRI this coming Monday at Women’s College Hospital, I go back to see the sleep doctor on August 29, then I meet with a neurologist on the third of September and with my family doctor the following day  It’s the most intensive medical care schedule I have had for quite some time..

I’m a little nervous.

One thought on “Sleep, no longer taken for granted, will soon be improving – hopefully

  1. The sleep study is a good one to have done, Kenn. I can empathize with the nervous feeling you have – just know that a number of us are sending good vibes.

Leave a Reply

