Craig Chaplin Memorial

u60_46.jpgThe Rev. Craig Chaplin, friend, pastor, teacher and graduate of (McGill University’s) United Theological College died on Wednesday, May 9, 2007.

Over a decade before that Craig decided to make a bequest to the United Theological College that would support an award recognizing the remarkable contributions of ministry offered by gay and lesbian people. In initiating this fund Craig envisioned an award that would be given regularly, and publicly, to a gay or lesbian person, ministering within the formal, organized structures of the Christian Church or in other faith traditions. This award is intended to be not only a symbol of affirmation, but also a means of fostering and encouraging positive role models within the LGBT community.

It was Craig who proposed that this award be announced at the time of his death and that others be encouraged to be Craig’s partners in contributing to it and the vision it promotes.

We are honoured that Rev. Chaplin has entrusted the United Theological College with the disbursement of this memorial fund. His affirming vision of the ministry of gay and lesbian people within and beyond the life of the Church is one we seek to affirm in tangible ways through our ministry of theological education. This Memorial fund allows us to live more fully into this vision and mission.

The United Theological College (UTC)

If you would like to make a secure online donation to the Chaplin Memorial Fund, please click here.

Also, feel free to visit Craig’s online memorial guestbook


Update – March 2008 First Chaplin Award recipient announced (James Loney)

Read about the presentation in the Spring issue of UTC’s Passages

Update – March 2009 Darryl Macdonald to receive the second Craig Chaplin memorial award

Read UTC’s Passages account

Update – March 2010 Alyson Huntly will receive this year’s Craig Chaplin memorial award

2011 –  Craig Chaplin Memorial Award not presented

Update – March 2012 – Two names to be added to Craig Chaplin Memorial Award

Update – February 2013Shaun Fryday to be this year’s recipient of the Craig Chaplin Memorial Award


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s